making creamed corn


I didn’t know this was something you could make! I just thought you bought it in a can and voila. But I had some farmers market corn, cut off the cobb, sitting in the refrigerator. The kids have been a little burned out on corn since we were getting it every week from the market so I wanted to try something different. My friend Michele had mentioned that she made her own creamed corn recently so I searched for a recipe, and who knew how easy or yummy it would be! The kids loved it. I actually got comments from both teens that it was good, and that never happens! I just approximated all the amounts and it turned out great!

3 tb Butter
3 tb Flour
1 1/2 c Milk (I used skim)
3 c Fresh corn kernels, cut off the cob

Melt butter, stir in flour. Add milk slowly, stirring with whisk until completely blended, thickened and gently bubbling. Add kernels and simmer about 3 minutes. Season with salt and white pepper.

One thought on “making creamed corn

  1. I’m trying to find something to make for dinner, but I don’t think this alone will carry the meal. Hmmm. Makes me hungry though.

Leave a Reply

