Baked Oatmeal

I make this recipe occasionally and while I love it, it’s easy to make and it just feels like a good way to send the kids off to school; they don’t really enjoy it, they’d rather have eggs and toast. πŸ™‚ Irregardless I made it yesterday morning; since it had to bake I also made eggs and toast for Beth who didn’t have time to wait for it to get out of the oven. I then left to drive her to school while Daniel came home after his Columbus State class to pick up a friend that had spent the night, and head to his high school. After his class at CSCC he usually drives to his g-mas house which is right down the street from his high school to eat breakfast there. But occasionally he has to come back home to pick up a friend that has stayed over, when he does that I try to have breakfast ready so him and his friends have something to eat. But when I came home from dropping Beth off to school the baked oatmeal was still untouched. Apparently, going hungry was more desirable than the oatmeal. At least I had something to bring to geography club for our potluck lunch. It was devoured and praised and I was asked for the recipe….. well by the adults anyways. πŸ™‚

3 cups oatmeal (any kind, I used a combination of Irish Style quick cooking & a longer cooking oatmeal; just because that’s what I had)
3/4c brown sugar
1/2c butter (I was out of butter so I used coconut oil)
2 eggs, beaten
2 cups milk
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp salt

And any fruit you like; I added dried apples, raisins and frozen blueberries, this was the first time I put blueberries in it and I really liked them. It was nice to have the juicy fruit instead of just dried fruit.

Mix everything together; pour into greased 13×9 pan
Bake at 375 for 25 min (mine took 35 min)

This is good hot for breakfast but it’s also good cold for a snack. It reminds me of an oatmeal cookie when you eat it cold.

2 thoughts on “Baked Oatmeal

  1. My girls love oatmeal-I am going to try this soon! I still use your recipe for refried beans in the crock pot too!

Leave a Reply

