Pumpkin Soup

I was challenged by my friend at Pepper Paints and her Thursday recipe challenge. This weeks theme is orange, so I decided to try something new, that I’ve never made or eaten before, Pumpkin Soup. First I had to bake then mush some fresh pumpkin, I did that on Tues because I knew I was going to be short on time today. I haven’t actually made the soup yet, I plan on throwing it all together when I get back home this afternoon. But I have all the pumpkin in the refrigerator ready to go, so it should be pretty easy to put together. I’ll post more this evening to let you know how it turned out.

INGREDIENTS
6 cups chicken stock
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
4 cups pumpkin puree
1 teaspoon chopped fresh parsley
1 cup chopped onion
1/2 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
5 whole black peppercorns

DIRECTIONS
Heat stock, salt, pumpkin, onion, thyme, garlic, and peppercorns. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low, and simmer for 30 minutes uncovered.
Puree the soup in small batches (1 cup at a time) using a food processor or blender.
Return to pan, and bring to a boil again. Reduce heat to low, and simmer for another 30 minutes, uncovered. Stir in heavy cream. Pour into soup bowls and garnish with fresh parsley.

Well I did make pumpkin soup but I didn’t end up using this recipe. I used a different recipe that I read over at Pepper Paints, Thai Pumpkin Coconut Soup (minus the coconut milk because I didn’t have any, I used 1/2 & 1/2 instead.) It was very yummy, well at least Dan & I thought so. I couldn’t get the boys to eat it and Beth tasted it and thought it was disgusting. But what do they know, they don’t even like my baked oatmeal!

One thought on “Pumpkin Soup

Leave a Reply

