An early New Years Resolution

No, it’s not to lose weight, while that would be nice this is a little more attainable. 🙂 I have decided that I am going to try to stay continually enrolled in 1 art class throughout the next year. I look at different classes all the time but I have a problem committing to them. But not any more, I just signed up for my first session, starting Jan. 5 at the Cultural Arts Center (one of the few arts programs that wasn’t eliminated by city wide budget cuts.) And while my preferred art form revolves around glass, the CAC doesn’t have any glass classes. So I’m stepping out of my comfort zone and trying something different:

Book & Paper Art Classes

“New bindings and surface design techniques will be introduced in each course, including non-adhesive bindings, traditional flat back, single sheet bindings and a variety of altered book forms. Students will also experiment with past papers, transfers, collage and printmaking processes.”

While the description says it’s a year long class, the session is really 6 weeks. At the end of the session I can decide if I want to continue with additional classes or try something new. I’m dying to do a glass fusion class so I think that will definitely be in my future.

Leave a Reply

