Resolutions part 2

I have been doing a good job sticking to most of my resolutions. I didn’t expect for things to change overnight but we’re 6 weeks into the new year and I’m proud of what I’ve done. First off I started 2 art classes, Book binding and paper making on monday nights and glass fusion on Tuesdays. The Glass class has kinda been a dud. The kiln broke the first week so we keep making new things but they haven’t yet been fired so who knows if they will turn into beautiful suncatchers or globs of brown melted glass. But I LOVE the book binding class. That class I will be continuing on with after this session. It is a great group of artists, it is so much fun to spend time with them and really inspiring.

Next there have been lots of changes in the kitchen. I don’t know if I forgot to include this next thing with my resolutions or if I learned about it after Jan. 1. But I am in the process of eliminating all the plastics (with BPA’s,) teflon and leaded dishes from my kitchen. I’ve pulled out about 5 bags of stuff so far and replaced it all with glass storage containers, cast iron pans and clear glass dishes. The kids never know what they’re going to find when they open the cupboards. I’ve been scouring the thriftstores for as much as I can. Who knew a .50 glass jar could make you so happy?

We’ve also been revamping our diets. Beth has become a vegetarian and has not eaten meat since before the new year. I am slowly transitioning to a part time RAW Vegan (who will occassionally eat some organic meat, and even sometimes non-organic veggie pizza.) I’m staying RAW until noon by drinking my super yummy green (sometimes brown) smoothies. Dan and I have one every morning and Beth usually has one sometime during the day (the boys have not joined us on the green side, yet.)

I follow the same basic recipe (everything is raw and organic) scoop of raw sesami seeds, scoop flax meal, raw sunflower seeds, several raw almonds, 2-3 leaves of kale, handful of spinach, carrot, frozen banana, blueberries, tangerine, scoop of spirulina, scoop of magnesium (just finishing off a bottle that was given to me,) a couple dates and a glass of water. Everything is dumped into my vita mix and blended until smooth.

I’ve finally gotten them so that they’re green and not this yucky brown color! But they are so yummy no matter what color they turn out and very filling.

One of my resolutions was to stop spending so much money, I haven’t even come close to that one. Especially keeping up with all the veggies we’re going through! I joined an organic food co-op and my first order is this month so that took a huge chunk out of my budget. And I finally got into a CSA for our fresh veggies this summer, which I’m paying for now. Not to mention all the hard to find raw items I’ve been buying, it seems so strange to buy groceries from Amazon! But it’s hard to find raw cocao powder and cocao nibs not to mention chia seeds (which I LOVE!) yes they are the very same seeds that grow “hair” on clay pots, but if you soak them in water they turn into this strange gelatinous goo that you can scoop into your drink (kinda like tapioca) I don’t know why I like them so much but I do. What drew me to them was the claim that they help fill you up and decrease your appetite, I don’t know if that’s true but they’re fun to eat! Oh as a side note which isn’t nearly as important as eating a healthier diet, I have managed to lose 7 pounds since the start of the year, woo-hoo! One other thing I’ve added to help me lose weight is I’ve officially given up sugar. It’s been 3 days of being completely sugar free, which means no ice cream, no typical desserts, no candy, no soda and especially no while chocolate/ mint lattes from Caribou; but when you look at that list you really don’t need any of those things anyway.

I don’t think I’ve managed less computer time but I probably have cut back TV time. Between taxes, fafsa, OSU applications, scholarship applications and searching for all these new hard to find foods the computer is still taking up much of my day.

I am slowly transitioning to natural cleaners. As I use things up I replace them with a natural alternative. One thing I can’t figure out how to switch is laundry detergent, the natural cleaners are way more expensive that all free and clear. So I’ll have to do some research into that.

Today I tried to pick up some inexpensive conditioner at CVS and I thought I would try to find one that said they didn’t test on animals. I could not find one, so that’s another thing i need to research. Sometimes it’s so hard just to get through the day.

Posted by Picasa
2 thoughts on “Resolutions part 2

  1. Look at you go, tackling all your resolutions!

    Your smoothie looks yummy. And the 7 pounds is great, though you don’t look like you had 7 pounds to lose!

    Our buying club (food co-op) sells organic chia seeds (or at least they did when I purchased my last batch a couple months ago. The inventory changes sometimes so I don’t know if they still offer them).

    I make my own cleaner and have done so for 7 yrs or so. We call it my Hippie Spray. Easy to make, works like a charm, and cost pennies to whip up a batch. There are some great books about homemade cleaners — check them out and you just might be inspired to mix up a batch of your very own Hippie Spray!

    You can get away without using laundry detergent, did you know that? I’m a mama to 5 sticky little kids and I don’t use laundry detergent! Our clothes get washed in cold water, hung to dry (on indoor drying racks in winter, outdoors in summer) and then when the clothes are dry they get a 2 minute fluff in the dryer to get the stiffness out (the dryer helps, otherwise the clothes are a bit crunchy. I wear my crunchy panties proudly šŸ™‚

    I use cloth diapers and cloth menstrual pads (sorry, TMI?) and for THOSE laundry loads, I DO use detergent. I use Charlie’s Soap, it’s the free-est and clear-est and pure-est detergent out there, in my opinion. I stumbled upon it through some online forums quite by accident after detergent-hunting for months. I buy it in the 1280-load bucket online and it lasts me forever since I only use it on cloth diapers and cloth menstrual pads, not regular laundry.

    Lastly, because this comment just isn’t long enough (!), I no ‘poo my hair…actually, our whole family does (even the wee baby). I haven’t washed my hair in 13 months, and you can’t even tell. At my last haircut, the stylist said that my hair was in great shape and whatever I was using on it, keep doing it! When I told her that I no ‘poo, she stared at my like I was a crazy hippie. I am šŸ™‚ Anyhow, just wanted to toss that out there for you to google in case you’re interested in skipping the CVS conditioner!

    Sorry for hi-jacking your comments section! And way to go on all your fantastic changes!

  2. You go girl! You should be proud; you’re making a lot of great changes and doing it in a logical way. Awesome! Thanks for sharing your recipes, too.
    -Tracie

Leave a Reply

