Raw Ice Cream, yum!


Raw Ice Cream, that’s dairy free and sugar free, yum!

Chocolate Ice Cream
2 cups raw cashews (whole or pieces, unsoaked)
2 cups of water
1/4 cup Maple syrup
3/4 cup raw agave nectar
Or you can use dates instead of the maple syrup and agave nectar)

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

2 scoops of raw cacao powder


Directions:

Put the cashews, water, maple syrup, agave nectar, and vanilla extract in your high-speed blender.

Start blending on low until everything mixes, then turn up to high for about one minute. Make sure your mixture is really smooth.

Once complete, taste test. Add more sweetener or vanilla extract to taste.

I put my blender into the fridge until I was ready to pour it into the ice cream maker.

Turn on ice cream maker, slowly pour your mixture into the ice cream maker while it is spinning. Now just let it work for about 20 or 30 minutes.

Scrape out the mixture with your spatula into a freezer container.

And Voila yummy ice cream!

Thomas didn’t care for this, he thought it tasted like coffee (there wasn’t any coffee, so maybe it’s the nut milk?) It was very creamy and rich. I think next time I will use 1/2 cashews and 1/2 almonds, (I’ll soak them both for a few hours also) plus I’ll use 2 1/2 -3 cups of water instead of just 2. Also it was a bit too sweet, I used dates and Agave nectar. Next time I’ll leave out the Agave. If I have maple syrup I may try that (and reduce the amount of dates) especially if I go with a vanilla ice cream, I think it would add a lot to the flavor.

This is also good if you leave out the cacao and use fruit. Just dump the fruit into the blender and either blend it smooth or leave it a little chunky.

2 thoughts on “Raw Ice Cream, yum!

  1. Yummy! Looks so good!

    We made some last night, Blueberry-Kale-Cacao Nibs…sound good? Tastes better than it sounds 🙂 Hubby was like, “KALE in my ice cream?” But then he tried it and had seconds.

    Am impressed with the tales from your raw kitchen!

Leave a Reply

