getting the hang of RAW “cooking”

Something about this transformation to raw cooking has been really tricky for me. I’m a pretty good cook, and I’m great at following recipes. 🙂 But really getting all the concepts behind raw cooking and just having it flow naturally has had me stumped. But this morning I had one little break through, so I’m hopeful.

First off the easy part: Almond Milk
soak 2 cups of almonds overnight
In the morning drain off the water, blend the almonds with 4 cups of fresh water, and 2-4 pitted dates. Blend for 1-2 minutes, it will turn white and creamy just like regular milk. You can do this with a variety of different nuts. Cashews make an especially creamy milk. I haven’t ever strained the milk before but I thought I would try it this time. So I poured it into a cheese bag that came with my yogurt maker and squeezed through all the almond milk. I ended up with a nice jug of milk.

I love this recylced glass jug, it came with egg nog in it this past winter. The almond milk filled the jug perfectly.

I saved the nut pulp for a future recipe.

Then I followed pepper paints suggestion for Museli. I found some Organic Oats (Raw fresh rolled) online. Oats were another raw thing that had me stumped. As far as I can figure steel cut oats are the least processed of the traditional oats you can find in a store but then I found these on line, “they are cold rolled in small batches using special equipment to retain nutrients and flavor.”

In a large glass container I dumped in my oats, organic dried cranberries (not sweetened,) organic raisins, chopped raw walnuts, raw sunflower seeds, scoop flax meal, smaller scoop of cinnamon and mixed it all together.

A scoop of that with some bananas and fresh blueberries with almond milk was so yummy. This is better if you let it sit with the almond milk so the oats soften up. I actually made a bowl for breakfast then decided I wasn’t very hungry so I put in the fridge until lunch and it was even better. I REALLY don’t like soggy cereal, but this doesn’t get soggy. I did have to add a little more almond milk since the oats had soaked it all up but it was really good and not soggy at all.

This is where my breakthrough came in to play. I still had the nut pulp in the fridge and I really didn’t know what I would use it for. I figured I could always use it in the date/nut balls if nothing else came up. But I kept seeing posts for a “cheesy” nacho dip to eat with veggies (or dehydrated crackers but i don’t have a dehydrator… yet) that had me intrigued.

The recipe I followed was from Kristen’s Raw blog.
(I put my alteration in parenthesis)

CHEEZY HEMP NACHO SAUCE

By Kristen Suzanne of KristensRaw.com

Yield approximately 1 1/2 cups

1/3 cup water

1 clove garlic

2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

1 red bell pepper, seeded, rough chopped (approximately 1 cup)

1 cup hemp seeds (I didn’t have hemp seeds so I used my nut pulp, yeah!)

2 1/2 tablespoons nutritional yeast flakes (I only used 1Tbls, I wasn’t sure if I would like the taste)

1 tablespoon chili powder

2 teaspoons tamari, wheat-free (I was out of Tamari so I used Bragg Liquid Aminos)

1/2 teaspoon Himalayan crystal salt

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/8 teaspoon turmeric powder

Blend all of the ingredients in a blender until smooth and creamy. This can be stored in the refrigerator for 4-5 days.


It looks good, it tastes good and I made a successful substitution in the recipe. Yeah! It is pretty spicy, so if you don’t like spicy food adjust the seasoning. I’m thinking this would be yummy with some cut up avocados and sweet peppers!

Leave a Reply

