This weeks RAW recipes

Well there have been some hits and misses this week. First off for the hits:

Raw Cacao Cookies

½ cup each walnuts, pecans, and macadamia nuts

¼ cup agave nectar

1 Tbls coconut butter

½ tsp vanilla

¼ cup cacao powder

¼ cup raw oats (optional, pulsed in at the end)

2 Tbls cacao nibs (pulsed in at the end)

Split the nuts in half and process them first. Half of them ground chunky (then set aside) and the other half ground fine. Pulse in the chunky nuts at the end along with the cacao nibs and oats. After mixing everything in a food processor, scoop into mounds (or roll into balls if you added oats) and freeze. This will make them stiffer and easier to eat, otherwise they are pretty gooey.

These are so good! They definitely take care of my sweet tooth when I want something decadent!



I’ve been trying to sprout different seeds and nuts. The mustard seed didn’t really work, the sunflower seeds worked fine but I can’t decide if the slightly pink coloring is mold or if they’re supposed to look like that. But the Mung beans worked great. I started with 1 cup of dry beans and they expanded and outgrew the mason jar.

Mung Bean Sprout Salad

Salad:

2 cup Mung bean sprouts
1 cup chopped sweet peppers (red and yellow)

1 cup shredded carrot
1/3 cup Fresh cilantro

Dressing:
2 Tbls Liquid Aminos
1 Tbls Olive Oil

1 Tbls hot sauce
1 Lime

Preparation:

Toss sprouts, peppers, carrot and cilantro in a bowl.

In a small dish whisk soy sauce, olive oil, hot sauce and juice of one lime.

Pour dressing over salad, place in fridge for and hour before eating to soak in flavors

This looked so pretty, it definitely could be taken to a potluck and appreciated by everyone. It is addictive, it is so fresh and crunchy, I could eat bowl after bowl. Dan really liked it also.

Raw Ranch Dip

This was a miss that tuned into a hit:

This recipe comes from The Complete Book of Raw Food by way of pepper paints:

1 1/2 cups raw cashews (I used macadamia nuts because that what I had)

Juice from 1 lemon or 2 1/2 teaspoons raw apple cider vinegar

1 teaspoon sea salt

1 teaspoon onion flakes

1 garlic clove

1 teaspoon dill weed

1 teaspoon Italian seasoning

1 teaspoon basil

Blend the cashews, lemon juice, sea salt, onion and garlic powder with 1/2 cup water (more if you want it like a dressing) until smooth and creamy. Pour into a bowl.

Add the dill, Italian seasoning and basil leaf by hand. Store in fridge up to 2 weeks.

I tried to use only nut pulp (left over from making almond milk) but it was way too grainy. I hated to throw it all out so instead I took ½ cup of the nut pulp mixture that I made and added it to the recipe in place of ½ cup of raw cashews. Also I tried to use my food processor the first time and it just didn’t mix it as smooth and my blender. So the second batch was blended in the vita mix. It was so much better, Dan and I both loved it!

Simple Curry

This recipe was from: gone raw, sharing raw, vegan recipes and advice

Sauce

1 medium ripe tomato
2 T. raisins
1 T. sesame seeds
1/3 c. cilantro (I use stems)
juice from 1/2 a lime
1/2 t. tumeric
1/2 t. cumin
curry to taste
1/2 inch slice of ginger
1 clove garlic
2 green onions, sliced

Salt

Preparation:

Soak the seeds and raisins if you have time.

Throw it all in the blender with enough water to make it move. I added water before I started blending which was a mistake as it turned to runny, so I added a handful of almonds to thicken it up. Next time I’ll start blending first & only add water as needed.

Serve over chopped vegetables of choice (I julienned (very thin) a butternut squash with my mandolin (it was like angel hair pasta) and some cherry tomatoes. It would be good over shredded cauliflower also.


Toppings of choice (sunflower seeds, raisins, cilantro etc.) I used some of the Mung Bean Sprout Salad as a topping.

Yum, this was very good and spicy! Don’t use too much garlic, raw garlic is way stronger than cooked garlic!


And last and most definitely least was my battle with the coconut (I had some awesome pictures of Dan breaking it open but when I was downloading them off my memory card they were all mysteriously erased. )

I bought one of the brown coconuts that you see at the grocery store (mine was from Giant Eagle) I have since learned that there are actually 3 different types of coconuts and what I bought was the least desirable and most likely to be rancid. Dan split it apart & drained the liquid into a cup and got all the pulp out for me. I tried a bite and thought it was pretty gross but hoped that it would be better in a recipe (I don’t know why I thought that, boy was I wrong.) I made a chocolate mousse with about ½ of the pulp and the liquid. I blended it all together in the vita mix and it looked really good. I tried a bite and it was disgusting, very grainy and just gross. So I put it in the freezer hoping that once it was cold it would be better. Then I put away the rest of the coconut for later. The next day I thought I would make a coconut milk, so I blended the rest of the coconut with water until it turned white and creamy, then I strained it through my yogurt bag to remove any left over pulp. It looked really good and smelled fine, I put it in the fridge to chill. Later that day I was starving and thought a smoothie with fresh pineapple, coconut milk and some other goodies sounded great. I blended it all together took a drink and had this gross burning acid like taste in the back of my throat, kinda like when you throw up a little in your throat. So I dumped the smoothie and tasted a little of the coconut milk to see if it was the culprit. It was, so I dumped the milk and the frozen chocolate mousse. I’m assuming this was just a bad coconut; I’ll try one more time with one from Whole Foods. I noticed theirs are refrigerated and don’t have the brown skin, so I think they are younger coconuts.

As you can see I’ve added some variety this week. Once you get the hang of cooking this way the meals are really quick and easy to prepare. It just takes a little getting used to.

3 thoughts on “This weeks RAW recipes

  1. tHE COOKIES SOUND GREAT BUT THAT MUNG BEAN SPROUTED SALAD LOOKS SO DELICIOUS!!! I can’t wait to try that. YOu have been busy!! I am having a “caps lock problem!” Yeah-about those coconuts. I used the white ones-the young ones. And they have an odd sort of metallic taste too, and the inside is weird. Sort of wet and slimy. Be sure to add this post to my recipes tomorrow!!

  2. I think you’re starting to convert me. These recipes actually sound tasty and you just can’t beat that 13 lb weight loss.

  3. Ooh! So much raw food goodness all wrapped up in one blog post! It all looks great, but that salade looks AMAZING! So full of color and crunch. Yum yum yum.

Leave a Reply

