What I ate this week in my raw quest

Well I’ll start right off admitting I did not stay 100% raw this week. I’ve found that staying raw all through the day is no problem but when dinner rolls around it is very hard for me to resist some of the foods I cook for the rest of the family. I’ve also done fine when I’ve been eating at my parents or in laws houses I can just bring along something to eat and its not a problem but when I’ve gone out to restaurants again it’s hard to stick with just a salad. I don’t want this to be like a diet where I feel guilty for “cheating” so I let myself enjoy those meals that aren’t raw knowing that the majority of my food is raw and that is so much healthier than how I’ve been eating in the past. So besides my son who likes to point out that I’ll be going to hell anytime I eat something that’s not raw I feel ok. I think that since I’ve been a non-practicing Catholic for many years and the 100% raw goal for lent was more symbolic than a declaration of my return to Catholicism my soul is safe.

On to the recipes, I’ve found that I really prefer simpler foods, like this raw slaw, which I love:

Raw coleslaw

½ head cabbage, finely sliced (with food processor)
3 carrot, peeled and finely shredded (with food processor)
½ yellow pepper, chopped
½ red pepper, chopped
1-2 cup bean sprouts (I used home-sprouted Mung beans)

Dressing (blended in food processor)

4 garlic cloves, minced
7 T extra-virgin cold pressed olive oil
3 T liquid aminos
2 T raw apple cider vinegar
1 T raw agave nectar
Grated fresh ginger

In a large bowl, toss the vegetables.

Blend the garlic, olive oil, liquid aminos, vinegar, agave nectar and ginger then pour over the veggies. Toss well and serve. (Let sit for at least an hour before serving.)

The original recipe can be found at the urban vegan

This next recipe turned out pretty good, it does taste kinda like an Alfredo sauce but I’ve decided that I’m not really crazy about sauces over squash noodles. I even bought the fancy spiralizing cutter but I’m just not that impressed with it. It seems to turn the squash into mush more than noodles. I need to try it with some other types of squash maybe. The original recipe came from Alive in 5, Raw Gourmet Meals in 5 minutes by Angela Elliott (of course I made some changes.)

Alfredo Sauce
1 cup nut pulp (I keep trying to find ways to use this up, I can’t wait to get a dehydrator)
1 tea salt
2 cloves garlic
¼ tea ground nutmeg
¼ tea ground basil or oregano
2 Tbls nutritional yeast

Blend in vita mix, adding enough water to blend smoothly (approx 1 cup) can use warm water and let blend for a minute or two to heat sauce up but not too hot.

Sprinkle with parsley and salt & pepper to taste
Serve over zucchini or squash noodles or eat with veggies.

I also tried Zucchini Linguine with Basil Pesto, it was just OK. I have a ton of pesto starter in the freezer from last year’s garden (we chopped up basil and mixed it with olive oil and garlic then froze it in ½ cup lumps.) Unfortunately, I’ve found that I’m really not crazy for pesto so this wasn’t my favorite dish.

And lastly for dessert I plan on making these Butter Ball Cookies today. I made them with some major alterations and they were just ok so I thought I would try the original recipe and see if they turned out better.

(Since I often am the only one in my house that will eat my experiments I have learned to make the recipes much smaller just in case they turn out to be duds and also so I don’t eat too much if they’re really good)

My version:
1 cup nuts (1/2 walnut, ½ almonds)
2 Tbls flax meal
1 Tbls dried coconut
2 Tbls cacao powder
5 figs (pitted)

Blend everything in food processor then add:
½ cup oats (pulsed in at the end)
2 Tbls water (to help it stick together)
Rolled into balls with coconut

My favorite snack:

an apple or banana dipped in raw organic almond butter with cacao nibs and goji berries. Yumm! I had been eating this with just apples but the other day I tried it with a banana and it was so yummy. For some reason I had never eaten bananas and nut butters together before, man I’ve been missing out! The only downside to this snack is how expensive raw organic almond butter is, $20 for 16oz, ouch! If anyone has any suggestions on a less expensive place to buy it I’d appreciate it.


Here are the raw “cookbooks” I’ve been reading this week

Alive in 5, Raw Gourmet Meals in 5 minutes by Angela Elliott

Everyday Raw by Matthew Kenney (I love this book because almost every recipe has great pictures to go with. You can find it pretty cheap at half.com)

Raw Food Real World by Matthew Kenney and Sarma Melngailis (this book is awesome and on my list to buy)

The Raw Food Gourmet by Gabrielle Chavez

Living in the Raw Desserts by Rose Lee Calabro

Joy of Pickling by Linda Ziedrich (I’m dying to make Kimchee)

3 thoughts on “What I ate this week in my raw quest

  1. I am with you with all the sauces. I too am finding simpler combos seem to taste better to me. Also if there is something I really want to eat that is not raw-I have some. But still keeping the majority of my diet raw. I see you joined the food co-op again! Try Trader Joes for raw almond butter. I am leaving for a week vacation and am bringing some food with me and plan to visit a raw restaurant or 2!! I could go to Sarmas in NYC but I hear it’s hugely expensive and I will have kids with me. A couple of friends made your mung bean salad from last week and loved it. Your cookies sound good-I bought 5 lbs of figs!

  2. Good for you, Sheila! You’re doing really well, and you should feel no guilt for ‘cheating’ — you don’t need to be a raw purist to have a great mostly-raw diet. You’ve gotta cheat now and then!

    I make a kick-ass almond butter if you’re interested.

    Kudos to you for all your great dietary-progress!

  3. Thanks for the list of books. I’ll have to try CML since we don’t seem to have a lot on raw foods (and the ones we do are always out). You are doing great and I think you have exactly the right attitude about those times you don’t eat raw. -Tracie

Leave a Reply

