I’m marinating….

…myself that is. I’ve rubbed coconut oil all over my hair and scalp. It’s 10:15am on Sunday morning and I plan on keeping this in my hair until I shower tomorrow morning. I’ve been having so many problems with dry hair over the last couple months that I have been searching high and low, or really just on the internet for some healthy solutions. I’ve tried the “no poo” route, giving up shampoo and using apple cider vinegar for a rinse and that didn’t seem to help. I’m still limiting how often I shampoo and using a more natural shampoo from Whole Foods that is paraben free and not tested on animals. But it hasn’t resolved my dry hair issues. So I’ve moved onto coconut oil. Which as I’ve been reading is good for just about everything, it can be rubbed on your body as a moisturizer and eaten in your smoothies to help prevent Alzheimer’s plus it’s good for about a million other things. Here are just a few from Global Healing Center:

10 Benefits of Organic Coconut Oil:

Used in tropical cultures as a nutritious diet staple for many centuries, organic coconut oil can help:

  1. Keep You Healthy and Slim
    You can help boost and regulate your metabolism to keep your weight under control with this wonder oil.
  2. Support Your Immune System
    Organic coconut oil is jam-packed with lauric acid, the immune supporting nutrient.
  3. Promote Heart Health
    Packed full of healthy fats that are good for your heart, organic coconut oil is a great addition to your daily diet.
  4. Give You Instant Energy
    Organic coconut oil can help you feel less fatigued and require less sleep by stimulating your metabolism. It can also enhance athletic performance.
  5. Support Healthy Thyroid Function
    Organic coconut oil helps to stimulate the activity and proper functioning of this important gland which provides energy, supports the health of your skin and metabolism, and keeps your moods in balance.
  6. Help Keep Your Skin Youthful, Smooth & Healthy Looking
    Using organic virgin coconut oil as a lotion will help improve your skin, hair, and nails due to its moisturizing and smoothing effects that also promote elasticity.
  7. Increase Cell Regeneration
    When your metabolic rate increases, your cell regeneration speeds up, too. This means that your body will more quickly replace old cells with newer, healthier cells.
  8. Promote Anti-Viral, Anti-Fungal, and Anti-Bacterial Activity
    Teeming with lauric acid, organic coconut oil possesses abundant natural agents that may reduce fungus, bacteria and the viruses that cause influenza, herpes, and other illnesses.
  9. Improve Insulin Secretion
    This helps to better utilize glucose to balance insulin output which can help relieve the symptoms and reduce the health risks associated with diabetes.
  10. Protect Your Body from Disease
    Organic coconut oil may help protect your body from cell damaging free radicals.

Here are 2 of the external benefits of coconut oil from Living a Whole Life

Hair Care:
Coconut oil is one of the best natural nutrition for hair. It helps in healthy growth of hair providing them a shiny complexion. Regular massage of the head with coconut oil ensures that your scalp is free of dandruff, lice, and lice eggs, even if your scalp is dry. Coconut oil is extensively used in the Indian sub-continent for hair care. It is an excellent conditioner and helps in the re-growth of damaged air. It also provides the essential proteins required for nourishing damaged hair.

Skin Care:
Coconut oil is excellent massage oil for the skin as well. It acts as an effective moisturizer on all types of skins including dry skin. The benefit of coconut oil on the skin is comparable to that of mineral oil. Further, unlike mineral oil, there is no chance of having any adverse side effects on the skin with the application of coconut oil. Coconut oil therefore is a safe solution for preventing dryness and flaking of skin. It also delays wrinkles, and sagging of skin which normally become prominent with age. Coconut oil also helps in treating various skin problems including psoriasis, dermatitis, eczema and other skin infections.

I smell like the beach and I’m not sure if this will stain my clothes so I’m wearing an old t-shirt with my hair in a pony tail and stuffed into a hat, so I look a little silly. But I’m hopeful that tomorrow after I shower it will all be worth it. This may become a weekly routine, but next time I’ll wait until bedtime to apply the oil.

My next change in my hair care will be to start using a boar’s hair brush and to continue with the infrequent use of shampoo, read more here: getting rid of shampoo & hair products for good

4 thoughts on “I’m marinating….

  1. No, that is not my hair, I wish it was! if my hair looked like that I wouldn’t be spending the day with coconut oil all over it. 🙂 But maybe after I do a henna my hair will look like that. One can only hope.

  2. Whoops! The other day I tried to shorten my novel-length comment 🙂 but it disappeared!

    Anhyoo, great post, how is your hair looking and feeling these days?

Leave a Reply

