A nutrient-packed cookie that tastes good!

Since I’ve been changing our diets I haven’t done much baking, I miss baking! Especially on snowy days. So today I reverted back to the old days of making cookies but I justified it by adding all kinds of yummy, healthy extras. They’re not the typical chocolate chip cookie but they’re also not quite as healthy as what I’ve been making. They’re somewhere in the middle but the kids are just excited that they get cookies again! I really wanted to make something the kids would like so I didn’t go quite as extreme as I would have liked to. Since these were a hit I’ll tweak them a bit more next time.

½ C unbleached white flour

½ C whole wheat flour

½ C spelt four

2 heaping Tbls flax meal

½ teas baking powder (aluminum free)

½ teas sea salt

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl

1 C butter (next time I may try ½ butter and ½ coconut oil)

½ C brown sugar (next time I’ll leave this out, the cookies were plenty sweet)

½ C raw sugar

Cream the butter and sugar, then add

2 eggs

1 teas vanilla extract

Mix in the dry ingredients, then add:

2 cups rolled oats

and whatever healthy stuff you have on hand, this is what I added:

½ C raisins

½ C sunflower seeds

½ C shredded coconut

¾ C chopped walnuts

¾ C dark chocolate chips

You could also add: dates, other nuts, other dried fruit etc.

Mix it all together and bake at 350 for about 15 min.

Very yummy!

One thought on “A nutrient-packed cookie that tastes good!

Leave a Reply

