Spring time means weight loss time

It’s that time of year when I need to lose all this extra weight that I piled on over the winter. I have several trips planned this summer and I really need to fit into my summer clothes. I would prefer to eat a high raw diet but I get lazy and start eating more and more snacky foods until the whole mess spirals out of control. I have found a detox weight loss plan that makes sense to me and I hope will be a boot camp for my eating habits, putting me back on the right track. Yesterday I started the Fat Flush for Life plan and so far I’m really liking it. There is a lot of detoxing that goes along with this plan, a few supplements that need to be added in and for the first few weeks it is pretty restrictive on what you can eat. But that’s ok I need something to kick-start my spring weight loss. The plan eliminates all sugar and dairy, almost all caffeine and most starches but you can eat lots of veggies, 2 servings of fruit, 2 eggs a day and 4oz of protein with each meal plus 2 Tbls of flax oil a day. It also adds some interesting detox items like a 100% cranberry juice/ water mixture that you drink all day long and the whey protein powder that you add to your fruit smoothies. You also start your day with a green drink then a cup of hot lemon water. I highly recommend getting the revised 2010 edition of the book. It gives a different eating plan for each season so you’re eating foods that are in season and make sense for that time of year.

I did lose 1.5 pounds my first day, woo-hoo. Some people find they lose 12-15 pounds the first 2 weeks, I know that’s not a realistic weight loss goal so I’ll just be happy to see the scale dropping. I was never hungry since I was eating something every couple hours but I did find that in the evening when I tend to eat chips or ice cream that I really wanted a treat. So I went to bed to read a book instead. I think the night-time eating is more of a habit than a real need for food so I may have some earlier bedtimes for a while until I can break those cravings. But that’s ok because the book explains how a full night’s sleep helps to eliminate body fat.

So what did I eat yesterday? Well I’m still getting used to the plan so this may not be a 100% recommended menu plan but it was a good start:

Cup of cran/ water with supplements

Breakfast: 2 scrambled eggs with peppers and onions (I managed to pass on the crepes that I made for the kids, it’s Beth’s b-day and b-day breakfast around here is always crepes with all the yummy fillings.)

Cup hot water with ½ lemon juiced and some healthy liver tonic drops (they were gross, I’m not drinking that mixture again!)

Fruit smoothie (1 cup frozen cherries, 8oz cran/water, 1 scoop whey protein powder vanilla, 1 Tbls ground flax, 1 Tbls chia seeds, 2 kale leaves) This was really good and filling, the protein powder does add a kinda weird taste since I’m not used to using it but it wasn’t horrible.

*I’m drinking my cran/ water throughout the day until the pitcher was empty in the evening.

Lunch: Huge salad for lunch (several handfuls of spring lettuce mix, 1 shredded carrot, homemade sauerkraut, peppers, onion, 3 olives, and ½ can of tuna with no salt added) For the dressing I mixed up 2 Tbls Flax oil, 1 Tbls apple cider vinegar, juice from ½ lemon, dill, garlic powder, cayenne, dry mustard & ginger. I used ½ of it with my lunch salad & half for the dinner salad.

Another fruit smoothie made pretty much the same as the morning one but with 1 cup of strawberries and a few frozen cherries plus some ice.(I put the healthy liver tonic drops in the smoothie and I couldn’t taste it so that is a much better way to take it but I’m not sure if you’re supposed to take it with food, so I have to look into that.)

Dinner: Another big salad the same as lunch minus the carrot, olives and tuna. For the protein I had a hamburger patty with a little mustard (no bun.) We were having a birthday party for Beth with grilled hamburgers, potato salad and cake and ice cream but I stuck to my eating plan and was very proud of myself when I was able to say no to the dessert!

Finished off my cran/ water and took supplements then went to bed at 8:30 to read.

I never felt hungry throughout the day until bedtime but that went away once I went to bed.

5 thoughts on “Spring time means weight loss time

  1. To kill my munching habits, I pop in a piece of sugarless gum (watch out for TMJ problems), brush my teeth or gargle with mouth wash. These things all take away the desire to put any other food in my mouth and breaks those struggles with food habits. While I’m doing this, I remind myself that I only want to eat healthy foods, when I’m truly hungry or if it’s “time to eat.” This is a joke in our home, I rarely feel hunger, so I have to look at a clock to remind myself to actually eat or feed the family. “Oh my goodness, it’s TIME to feed you AGAIN!!!”

    • With all those kids I’m sure someone is reminding you constantly that its time to eat. I feel like all I ever do is feed my kids, or remind them to eat or pack snacks when we’re leaving the house. Geez no wonder i have a weight problem. 🙂

  2. Plus no sugarless gum on this diet plan. I had a very different experience on my first day and ended up puking in the bathroom all night. I’ll get around to writing about it eventually. I’m taking the day off of cranberry water, etc. and having a cup of coffee to see if my headache will leave. I may try again tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

