Day 5…Chia seeds

The groceries I bought at the beginning of the week have disappeared so I had to add some variety to my menu finally. I need to go to the store today to restock for the next week of super healthy eating. I feel really good on this diet, I have plenty of energy and I’m never lethargic from lack of food. I’m also usually not hungry except in the mornings, which I think is a good thing. You should be hungry in the mornings but when I used to fill up on snacks in the evening I didn’t wake up feeling hungry. Also if I stay up too late, like I did last night, I end up really hungry. I couldn’t just go to bed because I had to make sure Beth made to Chattanooga safely so I had an 11pm snack, but it was just an orange. NOT the potato chips & dip that I would have really liked to have eaten. I also have not had a glass of wine all week, even though I have an open bottle of Riesling in the refrigerator mocking me. I was tempted last night but I really hate to break my momentum.

Here’s what I ate yesterday:

Cup hot water with ½ lemon juiced and a dash of ginger & cinnamon.

Cup of cran/ water with GLA supplement

Breakfast (9:30): Fruit smoothie (1 cup frozen cherries, 8oz cran/water, 3/4 scoop whey protein powder vanilla, 1 Tbls ground flax, 1 Tbls chia seeds, a chunk of frozen kale from last year’s garden, 1/2 teas spirulina powder)

Lunch (noon): Salad (a couple handfuls of spring lettuce mix, shredded carrot, peppers, onion, 1 olives, homemade kraut, a hard-boiled egg, fresh ginger, and another yummy new addition shredded beets) and a little salmon on the side. For the dressing I mixed up 2 Tbls Flax oil, 1 Tbls apple cider vinegar, juice from ½ lemon, dill, garlic powder, ginger, a squirt of Dijon mustard & sea kelp. I used ½ of it with my lunch salad & half for the dinner salad.

Snack (5:00): orange

Dinner (late at 7:30, after driving Beth to the airport): No Salad! Instead I had a very yummy chicken stir fry with broccoli, onions, peppers, garlic and fresh ginger. I used low sodium chicken broth to “sauté” the onions, garlic & peppers. The broccoli was left over from the night before so it just needed to be thrown in long enough to warm it up same with the chicken. Daniel thought it would be better with soy sauce and rice, but I was quite happy with it. My peppers were a mix of sweet and hot so it was pretty spicy and I thought very filling. It was a very small amount of chicken and a lot of broccoli.

Late night snack (11:00pm) orange (this put me 1 over on the fruit limit but it had to be a better choice than chips & dip)

Cran/ water with a scoop of chia seeds mixed in. here’s a link to all the benefits of chia seeds.

Before bed: finished off the cran/water & GLA supplement

*I’m drinking my 64oz of cran/ water throughout the day until the pitcher is empty in the evening.

My weight check-in for today: I was expecting to see the scale stay the same but it didn’t; I lost 1 more pound which puts me at 5.5 since Monday, yeah!

One thought on “Day 5…Chia seeds

Leave a Reply

