Day 6…raw cacao, yum

So far so good, this diet plan is really working for me. Last year I tried eating all raw foods and while I really liked eating that way for about 90% of the day I still liked to add in a little cooked food. This diet picks up a lot of the principles of raw food eating which I like. Plus the elimination of sugar is something that I always strive for. Normally I use dates to sweeten almost everything, so I am looking forward to adding them back in. My diet naturally gravitates to, too many grains and starches so it’s good to be taking a break from that and really rethink how frequently I eat them in the future. Yesterday’s food choices were a little different since I needed to go grocery shopping and I was out of almost everything. But that gave me the opportunity to clean out my refrigerator, which is now all clean and pretty. And full of healthy treats thanks to shopping trips to Sam’s Club, Meijer’s (gift card) and Whole Foods. I should be stocked up for at least another week. While Sam’s does have a lot of junk food and not much organic there are a few things they sell that are way cheaper than I can get at other stores, such as: large container of organic spring salad mix & spinach, lemons, limes, pineapples & bananas. Other fruits and veggies I prefer to buy local when I can and organic or at the very least grown in the USA.

Here’s what I ate yesterday:

I was out of lemons so I had a shot of cran/ water with the Healthy Liver Tonic, I have to plug my nose when I drink this and immediately follow it with lots more of the cran/ water

Cup of cran/ water with GLA supplement

Breakfast (10:00): Cherry/ Cacao Fruit smoothie (1 cup frozen cherries, 8oz cran/water, whey protein powder, flax, chia seeds, kale and about a teas of raw cacao) While cacao isn’t listed in the 2 week fat flush diet it is mentioned in the year round eating plan as something you can have a couple times a week. This would have been super good if it was a little sweeter, a frozen banana would have done the trick but it still gave the essence of cherries and chocolate.

Why eat raw cacao instead of the processed cocoa: Cacao contains a naturally rich supply of antioxidants, and is also an excellent source of dietary fiber. In addition, cacao is known to be one of the highest dietary sources of magnesium, contains an impressively high iron content, and also possesses many other essential minerals in significant quantities. For more information on the benefits of raw cacao go here:

Lunch (2:00): Salad (spring lettuce mix, shredded carrot, peppers, onion, kraut, fresh ginger, shredded beets, cukes and tomatoes.) For the dressing I mixed up 2 Tbls Flax oil, 1 Tbls apple cider vinegar, juice from ½ lemon, dill, garlic powder, ginger, a squirt of Dijon mustard & sea kelp. I used ½ of it with my lunch salad & half for the dinner salad.

Dinner (7:00): Tonight’s salad was a combination of my regular salad topped with a sprouted mung bean salad that I made today. I’ve been sprouting mung beans on the counter and they were finally ready to use. Plus some steamed salmon on the side.

Dessert: a crisp apple, yum. It seems that every time I buy apples they’re mushy (they then get turned into dried apple) so this was a nice surprise

Before bed: finished off the cran/water & GLA supplement

*I’m drinking my 64oz of cran/ water throughout the day until the pitcher is empty in the evening.

My weight check-in for today: This is a strange and rather sucky development I actually gained 1 pound, which is probably why you’re not supposed to weigh yourself every day, since these fluctuations do happen. That’s ok I’m staying on track I know it will drop back off. I didn’t have any eggs today because I was out and I didn’t have protein with lunch, I don’t know if that had anything to do with my weight gain (in bizarro world you eat less and gain more?)

Here’s a picture of the Sprouted Mung Bean Salad and here is a link to my previous blog with the recipe (I did alter the dressing to make it work with the fat flush rules, instead I used flax oil, and no liquid aminos) honestly it was better with the original dressing, the liquid aminos add the saltiness that make it really yummy.


Leave a Reply

