Day 9….GLA supplement

The weather is so nice outside, blue sky and it will be 70 degrees today. I think I need to start working in the yard finally. I’m a bit behind on all that. Nothing exciting to report on the diet front. I did do MUCH better with exercising yesterday. It really helps when you have friends to walk with, I don’t like walking alone.

Here’s what I ate:

Cup hot water with ½ lemon juiced and a dash of ginger & cinnamon.

Shot of cran/water with Healthy Liver Tonic and GLA supplement * here’s a link to explain why they recommend taking the GLA supplement, after reading more about it I discovered I’m supposed to be taking it with meals, so I’ll be changing that starting tomorrow.

Breakfast (10:00): Cherry/ Peach smoothie (1 cup frozen cherries/ peaches, 8oz cran/water, whey protein powder, flax, chia seeds, kale, spirulina)

Walked with Thomas & Ann for 25 minutes

Went over to a friends to visit and we walked for about 50 minutes

Lunch (1:00): Salad with Kraut, Mung bean salad, hard-boiled egg and dressing

Snack (4:15): hard-boiled egg and applesauce

Dinner (7:30): grilled tuna and steamed broccoli

Before bed: finished off the cran/water & GLA supplement, * I’ve been drinking the last glass of cran/water with 1Tbls of chia seeds mixed in for the fiber benefits. Mix the seeds and water together than let it sit for about 30 min, mix again, then drink (preferably with a straw) the seeds become gelatinous, it’s a little weird but I don’t mind the texture. Much better than mixing 1 Tbls of flax meal and cran/water together, like the book recommends.

*I’m drinking my 64oz of cran/ water throughout the day until the pitcher is empty in the evening.

My weight check-in for today: up .5 a pound, well that’s annoying! Oh well it’s bound to get better eventually, right?

**another note about the GLA supplement according to the author, Ann Louise Gittleman:

The black currant seed oil is the best balanced of the GLA substances and will not create an overload of this “good” Omega 6. The results from Omega testing reveal that most individuals are more GLA than Omega 3 deficient. I have recommended the UNI KEY GLA-90s for years with no negative side effects. Evening primrose oil can create break-through bleeding and borage seems to work better as a topical agent.

I purchased Borage oil at GNC, but when these are gone I will switch over to the black currant seed oil. I’ll most likely purchase it at Vitacost since their vitamin prices are much better than Whole Foods.

Leave a Reply

