Day 10….Seasonings

Yesterday was another GREAT day. Thomas and I went to Whetstone Park with a group of friends, the kids played at the playground then we all walked through the woods to the lower playground. Then the group of 5 kids, all close to Thomas’ age, played an imaginary game on the old metal fire truck for at least an hour.

At the playground I was briefly interviewed by channel 4 news (it aired last night) about my opinion on the new regulation that restaurants will have to put the calorie count next to all menu items. Then I had to guess the calories on several different menu items from around the city. I had never been to any of the restaurants nor ordered any of these food items and my guesses were pretty far off. But I thought it was funny that I’ve been making all these changes in our diets over the last year and a half then I would be asked these questions. My real answer is that we shouldn’t be going to these restaurants and feeding these things to our kids, except on VERY rare occasions, in which case it’s not the calories that are the real issue but the ingredients.

I wanted to cover the seasonings that are recommended on the first phase of the diet. These are all metabolism boosting herbs • Apple cider vinegar• Bay leaves• Cayenne• Cinnamon• Cloves• Cumin• Dill (fresh or dried)• Fennel (fresh or dried)• Garlic (fresh or dried)• Ginger (fresh or dried)• Mustard (dried or prepared Dijon) and • Turmeric; for more reasons and the full list of herbs you should use on the Fat Flush for Life plan go here. There are even more reasons to add Cinnamon into your diet even if you’re not following the Fat Flush plan, read more here

Here’s what I ate:

Cup hot water with ½ lemon juiced and a dash of ginger & cinnamon.

Shot of cran/water with Healthy Liver Tonic and

Breakfast (9:40): Cherry/ Peach smoothie (1 cup frozen cherries/ peaches, 8oz cran/water, whey protein powder, flax, chia seeds, kale, spirulina) GLA supplement

Walked for 20 minutes

Lunch (12:00): Salad with Kraut, Mung bean salad, hard-boiled egg and dressing, 1 Tbls flax oil

At the park for over 2 hours, walked for about 1 hour maybe

Snack (4:00): Pineapple drink (1 cup fresh pineapple, 1 cup cran/ water, ice, 1 Tbls chia seeds all blended together) this actually wasn’t very good, the cran/ water was overpowering so you couldn’t even taste the pineapple. Then I found out that a serving of pineapple is actually ½ cup. Bummer on both counts!

Dinner (8:00): grilled steak with sautéed broccoli, carrots & onions (with some garlic & fresh ginger) sprinkled with Eden Organics Seaweed Gomasio (which is a combination of roasted sesame seeds, sea salt, and sea veggies; dulse, nori, & kombu) This seasoning shouldn’t be used until you’re in the Fat Flush for life plan. Also since I can’t use oil to sauté I’ve been using a little reduced sodium chicken broth

Before bed: finished off the cran/water & GLA supplement,

*I’m drinking my 64oz of cran/ water throughout the day until the pitcher is empty in the evening.

My weight check-in for today: down .5 a pound, well that’s still annoying! I’m just going to keep trudging along and hope these stubborn pounds leave eventually.

2 thoughts on “Day 10….Seasonings

  1. Yes I feel a little skinnier and yes clothes are fitting a bit better. At the end of the 14 days I’ll do my measurements again so we’ll see if there is a big difference there.

    Aren’t you in FL? You can’t be jealous of a day at the park. 🙂 You must be missing your friends. After you get home we’ve all been planning a night out at Linda’s, so you have that to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

