Back on track with the diet

Even though my food choices were not 100% what the plan recommends I still lost 1.5 pounds yesterday, yeah! 1 more pound and I’ll have lost 10 pounds since the beginning of this journey 1 month ago. I got lots of walking in yesterday and 1 full minute on the re-bounder, I know pretty lame but it was better that the day before. Baby steps! I’m again out of all my fresh veggies so I’m to the store today to stock up on all the yummies. Salad mix, spinach, lemons, whatever veggies are looking good and are on sale, plus I’ll get pineapples and bananas for the other people in the house. I also want to pick up some salmon and chicken at whole foods, I’ve almost eaten all of Dan’s fish that he caught that’s been in the freezer. Good thing fishing season is starting up again. He’s going on 2 fishing trips while were in Seattle for about a week total. So we’ll hopefully be restocking the freezer with some Halibut. (Actually I don’t know what they’re fishing for, is it Halibut season in WA?)

Here’s what I ate yesterday:

Hot lemon toddy (hot water with ½ lemon juiced and a dash of ginger & cinnamon)

Walked with Ann for 30 min and listened to another podcast by the same author as the last one, Sarah Parent. For anyone that watched the segment on Discovery health about radical Parenting, her family was featured as the Radical Unschoolers. While the show was not great her podcasts really are. Anyway I was listening to Living a Positive Life which you can download for free on iTunes. And 1 whole min on the re-bounder.

CLA & GLA with cran/water

Breakfast (10:00): Fruit smoothie (1 cup frozen strawberries, 8oz cran/water, 1 scoop whey protein powder vanilla, 1 Tbls ground flax, 1 Tbls chia seeds, frozen chunk of kale, 1 Tbls cacao)

Lunch (1:00): Salad with Bubbies Kraut and leftover coleslaw plus a dressing made from; Dijon mustard, flax oil, apple cider vinegar & dill. I also had 2 deviled eggs made with 1 Tbls canola mayo

Snack (4:30): 1 healthy chocolate no-bake cookie, these are so yummy! My friend Janine came up with recipe (see below.) This is not on the diet but a have a container of them left over from the weekend so I’ll probably splurge and have 1 a day.

Walked for about 50 min while the kids were at ceramics

Walked again for about 45 min while Thomas was at soccer

Dinner (7:30): same salad that I had for lunch and steamed cauliflower (CLA & GLA)

Dessert (8:30): 1 cup cantaloupe

Before bed: 1 cup of cran/water mixed with ground psyllium husks

*I’m drinking my 64oz of cran/ water throughout the day until the pitcher is empty in the evening.

This morning’s weigh in: I lost 1.5 pound, yeah! Which puts my total weight loss at 9 pounds.

Healthy Chocolate No-Bake’s

Dump everything in the food processor

2 cups oats (you could substitute this with other nuts if you don’t want to use oats)

½ cup walnuts

½ cup flax meal

½ cup cacao (this time I used ¼ c cacao & ¼ c carob, you can also use unsweetened cocoa powder if that’s all you have)

½ cup shredded coconut

1 tea vanilla

¾ cup peanut butter

Start blending everything together

Drizzle in while food processor is running ¾ cup maple syrup

Then I roll the batter into balls, flatten like a cookie and dehydrate at 115 for 1 hours to just dry them out a little bit. You could also put them in the over at the lowest temp for about 15 min. Or you can just eat them “raw” they are so yummy! And this recipe is very flexible, if there is something you want to change go ahead and substitute something else or just leave it out.

Leave a Reply

