It was kinda a crappy day…

Yesterday was a grouchy day. It didn’t start that way the kids and I were meeting some friends at Franklin Park so the kids could play in the creek and in the small waterfalls. It’s so pretty and I was really excited to take some awesome pictures. While we were eating our picnic lunch I tried to take a picture of cute Ros next to a pretty flowering tree and my very nice 15 month old camera wouldn’t work. It had done this same thing the day before but then it had started working again so I thought it was a fluke. But nope, it simply wasn’t going to let me take any pictures. I was so sad, I could have gotten the best pics of the kids at the water. Plus I’m just past the warranty and I have to mail it in for service which STARTS at $200 and there’s no way we’ll have it back in time for our trip to Seattle. So even though it was Earth Day and we were at a beautiful park, my day was sliding downhill.

Thankfully I had planned ahead enough to have a roast in the crock pot for shredded BBQ beef sandwiches for dinner, so when we got home from the park I had 30 min to defat, debone and shred the beef and chop & wash the Romaine lettuce for the Caesar salads. Then it was off to dance class for 2 hours. When we got home at about 7 I was feeling frazzled and I needed to still make the Caesar salad dressing and steam the asparagus and salmon. But first I checked my email only to find that one of the kids had overdrawn their checking account by a couple dollars so I had to deal with that before they had any fees added to the account. Of course, when I tried to log on to the bank web site my password got blocked so I had to call customer service , then my phone died while I was on hold so I had to start over. By this time I was in a crappy mood. I did manage to finally take care of the bank account, get dinner on the table (the Caesar salad was rockin’!) but I was still feeling grouchy. So after dinner Dan and I took Ann for a walk to Jeni’s Ice Cream and we split a dish of: Riesling Poached Pear, Brown Butter Almond Brittle, Buckeye State and Kona Stout. It really only sounds like a lot. J They’re each actually a half scoop so you get to experience more flavors. I only had a couple small bites of each while Dan ate the rest. That did brighten my mood a bit!

Here’s what I ate yesterday:

Hot lemon toddy (hot water with ½ lemon juiced and a dash of ginger & cinnamon)

Walked for 30 min but I couldn’t listen to my podcast because my head phones quit working (ahh… the start to my crappy day)

Breakfast (10:30): Fruit smoothie (1 cup frozen cherries, 8oz cran/water, 1 scoop whey protein powder vanilla, 1 Tbls ground flax, 1 Tbls chia seeds, frozen chunk of kale, 1 Tbls cacao) CLA & GLA supplements

Picnic Lunch (1:00) leftover Chicken stir-fry with hot sauce, CLA

Glass of Kombucha, yum, raspberry flavored my favorite!

Snack (4:00): Orange Julius- simply 1 peeled orange, ice and a little water blended until smooth. This was very refreshing and yummy!

Dinner (7:45): * Caesar Salad, couple bites steamed salmon, asparagus with a squirt of lemon and a little sea salt; CLA & GLA supplements

Walked to Jeni’s ice cream and a few bites, yum!

Before bed: 1 cup of cran/water mixed with ground psyllium husks

*I’m drinking my 64oz of cran/ water throughout the day until the pitcher is empty in the evening.

This morning’s weigh in: I lost .5 pound, which puts my total weight loss at 10 pounds. So something good did come out of that crappy day!

* Homemade Caesar Salad Dressing:

put in blender

4 anchovies

juice from 1/2 lemon

1 egg

2-3 cloves of garlic

Blend

then slowly drizzle in 1/3 C flax oil, while the blender is running

One thought on “It was kinda a crappy day…

Leave a Reply

