Black Bean Soup

I miss beans; they’re not on the Fat Flush Plan so it’s been a long time since I’ve eaten any. I made *Black Bean Soup for dinner last night and I didn’t plan on eating any but it smelled too yummy for me to resist. It just seemed silly not to eat something that I know is healthy. While I’m still trying to lose weight I have been following the plan more strictly, but my long term goals are to be really healthy, as healthy as I can be. I think that this diet plan is the basis for a very healthy way to eat. By eliminating sugar, dairy, most wheat and anything artificial, I believe that’s the healthiest I can be. I know that sometimes I will eat some of those items but it won’t be a part of my regular daily choices.

Again here is a summary of the things to avoid on the 2 week Fat Flush Plan (the lifelong plan does have a few additions)

No herbs or spices except for those fat flushing herbs and spices outlined in The Fat Flush Plan
No margarine
No alcohol
No sugar
No oils or fats except flaxseed oil
No grains, bread, cereal or starchy vegetables such as beans, potatoes, corn, parsnips, carrots, peas, pumpkin, or acorn or butternut squash
No dairy products

As I was scanning through the blogs that I follow I came across an article about spices and how they can make foods even healthier and counteract some of the negative impacts that foods may cause. The interesting thing was that the spices they recommend using are the same spices that are recommended on the Fat Flush Plan. Read more at Nutrition Talk, and here’s a link to the blog I wrote about the seasoning recommended on the diet.

And here’s my random thought for the day, should kids be given more freedom to play out in their communities without adults hovering over them constantly? Read some other ideas about this at Free Range Kids and in an article titled, “How children lost the right to roam in for generations.”

Here’s what I ate yesterday:

Hot lemon toddy (hot water with ½ lemon juiced and a dash of ginger & cinnamon)

Breakfast (9:40): Fruit smoothie (1 cup frozen strawberries/ blueberries, 8oz cran/water, 1 scoop whey protein powder vanilla, 1 Tbls ground flax, 1 Tbls chia seeds, frozen chunk of kale, 1 Tbls cacao) CLA & GLA supplement

Lunch (12:30): Big salad topped with my fresh salsa, cucumbers and a dressing (made with flax oil, apple cider vinegar, lemon juice, Dijon mustard & dill) plus a side of smoked salmon & a hardboiled egg, CLA supplement

Walked with friends for about 45 min

Snack (4:30): small cup of Black Bean Soup and a couple homemade candied walnuts (sweetened with just a tiny bit of maple syrup) CLA & GLA supplement

Walked for about an hour during Thomas’ soccer practice

Dinner (8:00): Black Bean Soup and pineapple, CLA & GLA supplement

*I’m drinking 64oz of cran/ water throughout the day until the pitcher is empty in the evening.

This morning’s weigh in: I lost 1.5 pounds, total weight loss 11 pounds

*Recipe for Black Bean Soup (I loosely followed the recipe in Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon)

2 chopped & sautéed onions (in olive oil)

About 5-6 cups of cooked black beans (I had cooked them 10 min. in the pressure cooker instead of soaking)

About 2 cups homemade leftover beef stock

4 cloves of garlic

1 teas cumin

1 teas dried oregano

1 quart of our canned tomatoes (from last year’s garden)

1 pkg of our dried tomatoes (from last year’s garden)

1 pkg of our frozen sweet peppers (from last year’s garden)

I also added some of the fat flushing herbs: cinnamon and turmeric

Plus sea salt when the beans were all done cooking

I just dumped everything in the crock pot and let it cook for several hours on low

***oops it just occurred to me last night that I left off the final step for this soup; I scooped out about 1/3 of the soup and blended it in the blender, then poured it back in to make the soup nice and thick.

One thought on “Black Bean Soup

Leave a Reply

