making a green- fruit smoothie

I make smoothies every day, sometimes more than once. In the mornings I make 1 each for Dan and me and sometimes Beth. Thomas is not a huge fan but every now and then he’ll try one. Both Beth and Thomas will drink fruit only smoothies, so no green for them. Since being on the fat flush diet my smoothies have changed, I always add flax meal, chia seeds and often whey protein powder.

One thing I’ve done to make it easier is keep the main ingredients in a small container that fits in my freezer. That way I can pull out 1 container and have most of what I need.

This is everything that I need for Dan’s and my smoothies: from left to right: frozen peeled bananas, frozen kale from last years garden, freezer container with organic frozen fruit (blackberries, blueberries, and cherries) organic flax meal, organic chia seeds, raw organic cacao powder, whey protein powder (this was a fat flush addition) measuring cup and my vita mix.

I found the perfect amounts for making 1 smoothie are 1 cup frozen fruit and 1 cup of water, plus a chunk of kale and a 1 scoop each of protein powder, chia seeds, flax meal & cacao powder (if you want a slight chocolaty taste.)

For Dan’s smoothies I also add frozen banana.

IMG_1126 IMG_1129

and this is what all of that yummy goodness turns into. This one is not so green. The cherries and berries make a pretty color. When i add the blueberries and kale it often turns into a brown sludge color, not very pretty but still tasty.

IMG_1135 IMG_1136 IMG_1137

3 thoughts on “making a green- fruit smoothie

Leave a Reply

