CSA for July 3

This weekend was hard to squeeze in the farmers market between staying up late for the Red, White & Boom party Friday night and driving to Toledo for the day on Sat. But we managed to get up early Sat morning and get to the market for the 9am pick up.

And this is what we got this week:

Frisée (1 head)

Cabbage

Fennel (2 bulbs)

2 zucchini & 2 yellow squash

Garlic (2 heads)

Sprig of Basil

What is frisée you may be wondering (well at least I was,)

according the The Worldwide Gourmet it is an edible plant with long, wide leaves in shades of green or sometimes red, or simply edged with red.

As its name suggests, frisée is a curly lettuce whose long tender leaves are joined to a short whitish stem which somewhat resembles the base of the fennel plant.

OK it’s a lettuce (a spicy lettuce) so I can just add it to a salad, no problem I can do that.

IMG_2330

Last weeks cabbage became coleslaw, I’m not sure what this weeks cabbage will become. I could sauté it with some of the fennel, maybe?

IMG_2341

And here’s the fennel, I’ve never cooked fennel and I’m not real sure what to do with it. I did find this very simple recipe on-line:

Roasted Fennel Recipe

Ingredients

  • 2 fennel bulbs (thick base of stalk), stalks cut off, bulbs sliced
  • Olive oil
  • Balsamic vinegar
Method

1 Preheat oven to 400°F.

2 Rub just enough olive oil over the fennel to coat. Sprinkle on some balsamic vinegar, also to coat. Lay out piece of fennel and roast for 15-20 minutes, until the fennel is cooked through and beginning to caramelize.

I’ve been loving roasting zucchini and squash on the grill so I’m thinking that maybe I can throw them all together with some mushrooms and see how that turns out.

And here’s some more info about fennel from NPR (follow the link to read the whole story)

If you’ve never cooked with fennel, you’re not alone. For years, I avoided the bulbous green and white vegetable labeled “sweet anise” because I associated it with black licorice. Who in their right mind would want to taste black licorice at the dinner table?

But then I learned anise and “sweet anise” are two very different things. Anise is a pungent pint-sized herb, while “sweet anise” — or fennel — is a hearty vegetable with a thick, bulbous base and celery-like stems that grow upward to 5 feet tall. It has a sweeter, more delicate flavor than anise.

That is exactly why I have avoided fennel, I hate black licorice. Well now I’m much more excited to use this veggie!

IMG_2339

Here’s the squash and zucchini that are destined to be roasted.

IMG_2353

Hmm garlic, Dan just harvested our garlic also so we have about 100 heads of garlic hanging on the back porch drying out. Good thing we like garlic! I’ve also noticed that we have not had any problems with vampires, coincidence? I think not!

IMG_2334

And here’s everything including the tiny sprig of basil. Since we have several basil plants in the garden I’m not too excited about that little sprig. But it is making me think that its time to make some pesto.

IMG_2359

For more information about this CSA you can contact:

Ben and Lisa Sippel

Sippel Family Farm

www.sippelfamilyfarm.com

419-946-1394

All produce on the Sippel Family Farm is grown using
sustainable principles and without synthetic chemicals.
Everything that we sell at market and offer in our CSA
program is grown by
US on OUR farm. We NEVER buy
wholesale products from auctions or other farms. We
encourage you to ask other producers at the market if they
do the same.

One thought on “CSA for July 3

  1. Can we borrow some garlic? Vampires seem to have taken over our house.
    Do you roast the squash and zuchinni whole? Do you put any olive oil on them? Do tell.

Leave a Reply

