hurry up and wait…

…is the world of modeling. Get to the theater at 2pm for 2 hours of fittings, then 2 hours for the walk through, then 2 hours for hair and make-up, then finally at 8pm the show is scheduled to start. Which means the show should start by 9. During the time Beth is off with the other models we try to make ourselves as inconspicuous as possible. All the other model moms that I met last year were at the Friday night show. Today we are the only behind the scenes parents milling about. its much more awkward to be the only one. The theater is only a 10 min walk from our hotel and Beth would be fine here with the other girls. We may leave for awhile or we may just stay in the this basement hanging out waiting for the brief moments when we actually get to see Beth through this whole process. We’re not needed but we don”t want to leave.

IMG_3601

IMG_3604

IMG_3606 IMG_3607 IMG_3609

This is what the models eat throughout the day. Monster is a very popular beverage, along with a fruit tray and veggie tray. I overheard one girl offer to share the food her mom packed for her, lamenting that her mom, “was such a mom’” but I couldn’t help but think she was happy that her mom had actually packed her something to eat.

IMG_3655

I started the day attempting to be fashionable, heels although not nearly as tall or skinny as the much younger girls, I also wore my hair down. After a few hours into the day and 1 trip back to the hotel I ditched the heels and got my hair out of my face. I don’t know how all the pretty people do it, living in heels always being dressed up,  it’s exhausting!

Here is Beth during the practice runs. It was a beautiful day to be sitting outside listening to the show music blasting through downtown (I love the show music I wish they sold a copy of it!) and watching Beth walk the runway.

IMG_3660

IMG_3610

IMG_3664 IMG_3665 IMG_3675

The start of the makeover process:

IMG_3721

The final look (this is after the shows are all over and back in our hotel room, so she’s a bit windblown and hyped up but tired all rolled into one):

P9120033

I literally finished this post walking out of the hotel so the editing may be a bit off.

2 thoughts on “hurry up and wait…

    • I did but I didn’t have a chance to do anything with them before we left this morning. We decided to get on the rd early so we’d have a little bit of the day at home.

Leave a Reply

