Another gluten free member of the family

I just looked back at the blog I wrote on July 12th talking about our switch to a gluten free diet due to Dan’s GI problems. Well it’s been 5 months and Dan is still gluten free, there have been a few glutinous foods that have snuck back into the house, for the kids. And the fact that Beth works at Great Harvest Bread Store 2 days a week means that she is bringing home treats that she hides in her room. But Dan has stuck with it, it has helped his GI problems significantly, or at least enough that he sticks with the diet without any complaints. We were hopeful that it would help eliminate some of his back pains but it hasn’t seemed to make a difference with that.

As for me I followed along with the diet MOST the time but every now and then I would eat some of the treats that the kids had around. And often when I was out I would eat whatever. Until I decided that my food choices needed to be revamped and I went back on the Fat Flush Diet for a few weeks. As I’m sure you remember from my daily blogs: all grains, sugar and dairy are eliminated. So I was on diet boot camp for several weeks leading up to Thanksgiving, then I had 4 days of eating all the yummy thanksgiving days foods and leftovers.

That’s when it hit me, the CONSTANT itching that had plagued me for years, that would wake me up nightly, and my constantly itchy scalp had all stopped while I was on the Fat Flush but had come right back during my Thanksgiving feasts. A friend of a friend had been advised by her Dr. to give up gluten to help with her itchy skin. It made me wonder were they tied together. Was I actually allergic to gluten thus all the itching. Sure enough the night I decided to eat pizza I woke up itching. Then another thing occurred to me, the really dark circles that are always under my eyes, that my mom is constantly harping about, they had gone away. Dark circles usually mean allergies, were they tied to the gluten too? Well the circumstantial evidence was enough for me. I’m off the gluten and enjoying my itch free nights!

Leave a Reply

