New Years Resolutions 2011

I’m mixing things up a bit for this year. While I have on-going goals that I plan on sticking to I don’t really consider them New years Resolutions (such as only eating local, humanely raised meat, eating as much organic produce as possible, sticking with local in season fruits and veggies, etc.) Those are life time goals for us and not something new.

So for my New Years Resolution I am picking something that I have never attempted before. First off I am going to start putting 20% of all our paychecks into savings. Dan is usually the one who saves money and it has to be before the checks get to me. I have lots of reasons (excuses) as to why I can’t save any money. I pay all the bills and spend the rest of the money on groceries, gas and the kids classes. But each month money is wasted on unneeded items. So before I do anything 20% is going into savings.

The next part of the resolution is going to help with not needing that 20%. I am going to buy NOTHING new for all of 2011! The only exceptions are food obviously, necessary toiletries, and materials for the house renovation. While my budget for the renovation is pretty much $0 anyway (since I don’t have any money saved for it,) I had already planned on being very frugal with what we purchased. But there are still going to be items that need to be purchased new such as electrical wire and drywall and other items like that. But wherever possible I will first search out previously used items and not automatically run to Lowes for supplies.

This also means no more shopping for new clothes (except to use up any gift cards we were given for Xmas,) and no more trips to Target for “necessary” supplies. Also no more purchased gifts, sorry to say everyone is going to be getting handmade gifts this year. Not only that but I’m not going to go out and buy NEW supplies for making these gifts. I have to use up the abundance of supplies I already own or find magical items at the thrift store to transform. I promise not to give arm warmers for every gift this year!

I think this is going to be a huge challenge but a necessary one. We have gotten used to being able to run to the store and buy whatever we “need” even when those needs are questionable. I have way too much clutter and stuff in this house and part of clearing it out is not bringing in anything new. So for at least 2011 that is the goal!

One thought on “New Years Resolutions 2011

Leave a Reply

