Upcycling a sheet for your quilt backing

As I was lamenting how narrow and expensive flannel is from the fabric store, it occurred to me that you could use flannel sheets for the backing instead.

Beth just made a T-shirt quilt (using all of her favorite t-shirts that she doesn’t really wear but didn’t want to get rid of) since she wanted it to be a light summer quilt she is backing it with a jersey knit sheet. The kids don’t use top sheets on their beds so the top sheets always end up in our fabric bin and we just happened to have a big gray one that she could use. These sheets are inexpensive at Target but they would be even cheaper and better for the earth if you were to buy them at the thrift store. I know it’s a little creepy buying sheets at the thrift store but if you just dump them in the wash right when you get home maybe it won’t seem so bad.

The measurements for top sheets (with the hems opened) are approximately:

Twin: 66 x 96 which equals 1.8 yds x 2.6 yds

Full: 81 x 96 which equals 2.25 yds x 2.6 yds

Queen: 90 x 102 which equals 2.5 yds x 2.8 yds

King: 108 x 102 which equals 3 yds x 2.8 yds

Which would make for much less expensive backing than buying new material. Also you can always use RIT dye to change the color of a sheet if it looks to drab, which I plan on doing with a sheet that I just picked up at the thrift store for $.50.

4 thoughts on “Upcycling a sheet for your quilt backing

  1. I have a box of baby clothes that I saved to make into a quilt someday. Maybe you’ll inspire me. Of course, if I have spare time, I should probably clean the house instead of working on a quilt.

  2. I had a ton of T-shirts from my high school and college days. I was just about to donate them and then I stumbled on this company called stitch’T. I was nervous about sending them my shirts, but figured why not? Sure enough, they sent me back a terrific and really comfy quilt. Take a look at all the T-shirt quilts they have on their site (mine is in the top row of one of the 5th gallery page).

Leave a Reply

