Blogging break

Besides yesterdays blog about Niagara Falls I haven’t blogged for about 2 months. I wanted to blog during that time. Thomas did a ton a cool things that I wanted to share. But during the past 2 months our world has fallen apart. The mental energy it took to compose a thought and type it out was more than I could handle. The things that I really wanted to blog about are too private to share. So instead I have these blogs roll around in my head with everything I want to say but can’t and there they stay, in my head.

Right now there is a calm between storms and I can write again. I’m going to go backwards and share some of the fun things that went on even in the midst of chaos, because life does still happen even when it feels like everything should just stop. I did pull back when things were really bad, I didn’t spend time on Facebook or even the internet unless it was researching ways to make things better. Being online lost all of its appeal.

But I talked A LOT! Thank goodness for all my friends that have had to listen to me talk and talk and talk about stuff that none of us ever imagined we’d be talking about.  The library also played its part, I brought home stacks of books to learn about this darkness that had come into our lives. When you’re reading books all day and night the internet takes a back seat. Then I realized that the internet was actually feeding part of the darkness that had descended upon us. How to get rid of its influence in a world that seems impossible to navigate without it. I’m still trying to figure that one out. I would love to exorcise the internet from our house but I don’t think that’s possible.

So for now while there is a calm I will write blogs about all the fun homeschooling adventures we have had. But when the storms return, and unfortunately I fear they will return, I will again take a break, circle in and focus on what’s really important.

2 thoughts on “Blogging break

  1. I’m so glad you are back and able to focus some of the more positive parts of your life, for awhile anyway. Kids… they suck the energy from you. I’m available to listen any time.

  2. Your friends are always here for you, Sheila. You’ve shown remarkable strength and courage throughout all of this. I’m happy you have a chance to catch your breath and think of good things.

Leave a Reply

