A new helper around the house

My sister and her family are in the process of moving back to Ohio from Seattle! We are all so excited to have our family back together again. The journey to Ohio is happening in stages. The first person to make the trip is my nephew BJ, or as I hear he now goes by William. He got in Wed night and we have already put him to work on the house.

There was one section going into the kitchen that still needed that dreaded plaster and lathe board knocked down. In an effort to not cover the kitchen in black dust I put up tarps on all 4 sides of the space and I was hoping the boys could just stick their arm in the sheets with a crow bar and pull it all down.

IMG_6784

That worked, kind of…they managed to get a bit of the plaster to fall down.

IMG_6789IMG_6790

But eventually BJ just had to climb in and really go to town on it.

IMG_6791

Yeah it was really that dusty. But he did have a breathing mask and goggles on.

IMG_6792

This is only about half of the debris, I cleaned up half way through to try and keep him from stepping on any nails (that didn’t quite work he did step on a nail that I had to pull out of his shoe, oops. He was a trooper he never even complained.)

IMG_6799

Here’s the finished area, all the plaster down and ready to be dry walled….

IMG_6800

I love having some fresh blood to help around here. I think we’ve worn our own kids out. Poor Daniel never even comes to visit anymore for fear that we’ll put him to work. Will this renovation ever be done?????

One thought on “A new helper around the house

  1. I don’t know how you are still living like that. I’d be recruiting friends and relatives for an Amish work day just to finish everything. I’d also tell my handy husband not to begin any new projects (beehives) until this one was finished!!!!

Leave a Reply

