The metamorphosis of a house

During my 3 month absence from the blogging world our home renovation has made some leaps and bounds. Back in April Dan was just finishing up all the framing to get the house ready for the drywallers.

IMG_6992IMG_7002IMG_7116IMG_7117IMG_7121IMG_7122

The drywallers came and over a 4 day period they hung, mudded and sanded all the drywall for 4 rooms of the house. Which meant the house was 1 big dusty mess.

This is the new, smaller office/ back entry. We made it a little narrower so that we can make the bathroom a little bigger (when and if that project ever gets started.) That is also a new back door that will eventually be the only back exit once the kitchen remodel happens.

IMG_7159

This is standing in the office looking into the dining room. Turns out I really didn’t like how closed in I felt once the dry wall was put up. It took a little time but I eventually came around.

IMG_7161

This is the new dining room, which used to be a bedroom. Now you can walk through to the living room, that wall used to be closed off.

IMG_7162

There’s that new window that Dan moved, now we don’t have to look directly into our neighbors kitchen.

IMG_7163

And here is 1/2 of the living room, I guess I didn’t take a pic of the whole living room.

IMG_7167

The day after the drywallers finished Dan left for a trip to Seattle which left me home alone for 10 days of painting fun.

There were many walls in the house that looked like this:

IMG-20120513-00087

Every morning I would drive to Lowes by 7am and I would choose several sample colors to bring home and try out. Day after day I did this. Until I finally settled on a beachy color scheme.

And this is where we are now…There’s still quite a bit of finish work that needs to be done, but we have walls. That seems to be the sentiment that everyone shares when I lament on all that is not done.

This is the office/ new back yard exit. I have hopes of finishing our back porch into my art space. This door will enter into that space. Ironically I have hated the color blue for as long as I can remember, I had always used warm colors in the house before, red, yellows, and some greens. But I wanted to go completely different this time and all of a sudden I decided I like blue. I was worried when I painted the office that it was too pastel (I hate pastels) I thought the room looked like a Easter egg, but it really grew on me, especially with the white accents.

IMG_8891IMG_8892

This is the dining room (looking into the office) I love the cream and darker bluish/green accent color. That wall goes into the kitchen so that color will also be a part of the kitchen if we ever get to that part of the remodel.

IMG_8894IMG_8896

The living room I really struggled with. I love the pale blue on the walls. Then I wanted a accent color that really popped and I just couldn’t make a decision. I don’t love what I chose. I think it would be fine for a bedroom but I don’t love it for the living room.

IMG_8898IMG_8900IMG_8902

This was a quick temporary paint job on 1 wall in the kitchen. I do like the look of it but eventually it will be changed since this wall will have cabinets on it.

IMG_8906

And here’s the view from the kitchen into the living room. We took down this wall too, which really opened the space up. We’ll eventually have French doors where those red windows are opening onto the side yard.

The chimney is staying, we love the way it looks. But it does need to be cleaned up. I’m just not exactly sure how to go about that.

IMG_8913

It has been a really long process and both Dan and I are completely sick of this renovation. It takes over your life, its always hanging over your head. Hopefully some day it will all be done. But in the mean time, at least we have walls!

3 thoughts on “The metamorphosis of a house

  1. As I told you this morning when I was stealing tomatoes from your garden, I am your new interventionist. I will not allow you to start another new project until your current projects are finished. I do love that wall going toward the new back door. The blue paint and the white frames is so quaint and decorate-y. I’ve never been any good at that. I have no decorator plan.

  2. Sheila, how pretty! I like how you blend different colors together. And the owls – love those big eyes and whimsical faces. We can’t even get a project started. We just talk about it for two or three years. Hopefully not four. Been wanting to tell you – We watched a lumber jack show in Ketchikan Alsaka, and one of the lumber jacks was an identical twin of your husband. Does he have any relatives in Alaska?

Leave a Reply

