Springfield Antique Show & Flea Market

Twice a year my friend Kristen and I (try) to leave the house by 7am for an all day junk/ antique shopping extravaganza in Springfield. This year the weather didn’t really cooperate for our fun day of shopping. Even though its supposed to be spring we ended up havign to buy hats and gloves so we didn’t freeze to death. But we still stuck it out for our all day shopping event and found plenty of treasures.

We always have a list of things that we’re looking for. This year my list had lighting for the new house, pyrex dishes, vintage kitchen utensils, hardware, knobs and casters, maple syrup container, ironstone and dansk cookware. I found most the items on my list but a few things I’ll have to keep searching for.

Here is all my lighting that I found, a fixture for the living room and closet. And 2 heavy metal colanders that I am going to make into pendant lights for the kitchen.

IMG_4314

I have a love affair going with vintage pyrex dishes. I have been trying not to buy any until my kitchen renovation is complete and I actually have somewhere to put them. But with hope of that dwindling I decided to go ahead and start buying some now. How could you ever resist all those pretty colors?

IMG_4315

And here are all my pieces displayed on my hutch. I really don’t have too much and they all look so pretty together.

IMG_4358

Since the one construction job around here that may actually be finished sometime soon is the front porch I did decide to buy some fun stuff for that. I have plans of filling it up with lots of potted plants so i was looking for some new fun vases.

IMG_4338

IMG_4339

This is the only big thing I bought and I think it will look great filled up with plants on the front porch.

IMG_4348

I didn’t find any Dansk cookware but I did find this awesome enameled cast iron pot from Holland. They make the coolest kitchen stuff in Holland.

IMG_4329

I couldn’t resist this turquoise blanket and not just because I was freezing to death!

IMG_4349

Another very small collection I am starting is hand mirrors, this is only my 3rd one so it is definately a small collection.

IMG_4346 IMG_4345

I guess these are for hanging stuff in the kitchen but when I bought them I was thinking they were planters to hang on the fence. I think that’s what I’ll use them for.

IMG_4343 IMG_4342

Hmm well this is beginning to sound like I’m a hoarder but one more thing I’ve started collecting is vintage cake carriers. I am particular about the ones I keep. If they aren’t what I’m looking for then I put them in my booth to sale. This is only the second one I’ve kept for myself, but I have put several in the booth.

IMG_4332

More fun kitchen stuff…

IMG_4331

A few items for me and few items for the booth. Sadly most the prices at Springfield are too high for me to resell stuff. But every now and then I find something cheap enough that I can make a little profit off of it.

Oh and I finally bought my first piece of Ironstone china (the platter below) also a new collection I’m just starting.

IMG_4322

These beads are for a chandelier that I’m redoing for the booth. And the clip on earrings will be made into flowers.

IMG_4341

And who doesn’t need casters? These are so expensive that whenever I find them for a good price I have to buy them!

IMG_4340

That was all my treasures from a day of hunting. I can’t wait for our next marathon shopping day.

Leave a Reply

